President Dr. Nathaniel L. Bishop

 Dr. NL Bishop, D.Min.

Dr. Nathaniel L. Bishop was appointed by the Board of Directors of Jefferson College of Health Sciences to lead the college on April 17, 2010. He came to Jefferson College from Carilion Clinic in Roanoke, where he had served as a Vice-President.

He has played a significant role with the college for many years beginning with his service on the Jefferson College Board of Directors in 2003. In this role, he helped guide Jefferson College to a growing enrollment and expansion of academic programs.

Dr. Bishop began his career in healthcare by way of long term care administration managing continuing care retirement communities as a Virginia licensed long-term care administrator. In 1997, he moved into a leadership position with Carilion Clinic as the Executive Director of Burrell Nursing Center. In 2002, Dr. Bishop was named Vice President and Hospital Director of Carilion Roanoke Community Hospital and later served at Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital as Vice-President of Facility and Guest Services.

In addition to his duties as President at Jefferson College, Dr. Bishop also serves as the Chair of Interprofessionalism at the Virginia Tech Carilion School of Medicine. Additionally, in July 2016 he was appointed to the Virginia Board for Community Colleges by Governor Terry McAuliffe.  He served a term as a member of the Board of Trustees of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) 2013-2016.  He has also served on the Board of Trustees of Ferrum College and is a member Emeritus of the Board of Visitors of the Divinity School of Duke University. He serves on numerous church community boards in the Roanoke and New River Valleys. Dr. Bishop and his wife, Sylvia, have three grown children and five grandchildren.

Dr. Bishop holds undergraduate degrees from New River Community College and Radford University, a master’s degree in education from Virginia Tech and a doctor of ministry degree from Wesley Theological Seminary in Washington D.C.